From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Distributed Control & Automation Framework (DCAF)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TDMS Datalogger plugin is getting zero data at the end of tdms file

hi,

I am still new to the DCAF framework and I was trying out the TDMS datalogger plugin. I was trying to see if I can just log my data every 3 seconds. This is using the DCAF handson as an example. Since I cannot find a way to log to file every 3 seconds in the TDMS datalogging plugin, I set the timing dt = 3000 in the primary configuration for the simulation engine. Once I run the main program and stop, I took a look at the TDMS file and it is showing some zero data appended at the end of the TDMS file as shown in the screen capture attached. When I set the dt = 1000, this does not happen. I am guessing that the TDMS datalogger module is still trying to log data which is already cleared. I am not sure if this is the correct way to specify the logging interval, so please let me know if there is a better way to specify logging interval. Thanks.

Rando

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(5,024 Views)

The TDMS data issue is documented in https://github.com/LabVIEW-DCAF/TDMSModule/issues/18

Put simply, the advanced TDMS api requires a pre-defined number of samples for each channel, so if the system exits before reaching this count it puts 0s for timestamps (you can safely filter out any row with a 0 timestamp, and by zero I mean the 1904 date)