Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

switching pneumatic solenoid valves using USB 6008

Hi, 
I am a student working on a project in which I need to built a program to control/switch  pneumatic solenoid valves to oporate on a pneumatic cylinder using the USB 6008 I am very new to LabView and DAQ.

The solenoid has two ports, one for extending the stroke arm of the pneumatic cylinder and the other for collapsing the stroke arm.as the solenoids works off of a 12V supply I have bulilt a darlington pair as a firing circuit for it.

I have had built different programs but I'm only able to  send a signal to extend the stroke arm  and then manually switch the wiring to collaps the stroke arm. So I have problem building a program that sends a signal to my circuit in such a way that ports of the solenoids go ON and OFF after a certain time.

I really appreciate your help

Elmira

Elmira
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(7,360 Views)

Elmira,

Do the solenoid valves vent the cylinder when they are de-energized or do you need to release the air some other way?

If you do not have datasheets for the valves, you can run simple tests by manually switching the power to the valves.

Be careful! If you break the circuit (disconnect the wires) while the solenoid is energized and you are touching the wires, you could get a nasty shock!  It probably would not kill you, but that is not an experiment you want to try.

Are ths solenoids rated for continuous operation or only intermittent operation?  Does the cylinder maintain its position if neither port is pressurized?

The reason for my initial question is that you need to know how many different states your system needs. It is possible that you have written code which is not trying to do what is actually required.