Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pci6503

Solved!
Go to solution

I am using a PCI6503 card to do simple digital output.  I have been able to exercise the card in NIMAX, so I know it works.  The card will be used in automated testing, so I do not want to use Labview, etc.  I plan to write my code in C (or C++).  The best I can determine, VISA is the route I want to go.  In the documentation, I read if VISAIC, but this utility does not even show my card (it does find a serial port and a printer port.)  Can you tell me if I have missed some step in installation?  Please be explicit-I am new to NI products.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,029 Views)
The device has nothing to do with VISA. It is programmed with the DAQmx api and you have examples that get installed with the driver. Where did you get the idea that VISA was the api?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(5,021 Views)

If you are going to use C/C++, you will want to make sure you have DAQmx and Measurement Studio installed.  DAQmx is the driver for that card.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(5,018 Views)

I thought VISA was supposed to be a universal interface?  There is a description for creating a .inf file for a PCI device using a utility that comes with VISA.  The NI manuals were quite unclear.  Apparently I'm not the only one confused, as a web search will quickly show.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(4,994 Views)

Why do I need Measurement Studio?  Can I access the DAQmx driver directly?  Is there documentation of the DAQmx API?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 7
(4,993 Views)