Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB 6008 digital output

Hello, I'm new to labVIEW and using DAQ cards. I've been trying to run the "test panels" program to successfully get my card to output a 5V signal on any of the lines in port 0 or 1. When I set port 0 to output and select "all high" I would expect a multimeter to give me 5V when I measure any line, from 0-7, compared to the ground but this is not the case. I've just been getting <20 mV noise. I also tried to run the "self-test" which just says it completes successfully with no extra information. What else should I be doing to get a 5V output? Is there something I'm missing?

I am eventually going to use the card to operate 11 valves with each line turning an individual valve on or off.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,688 Views)
Do you have the lines connected to anything or are you just probing the screw terminals? The test panel should work if you don't have anything connected.

The self test really only verifies communication.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(5,687 Views)

I have nothing connected right now and am just probing the screw terminals.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(5,681 Views)

rtjoyce wrote:

I am eventually going to use the card to operate 11 valves with each line turning an individual valve on or off.

You will likely need a buffer circuit since the 6008 cannot supply much current at all.  If you are already connected to these, then that is what your issue is (current limit for the output only allows the output voltage to be really small).

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(5,680 Views)

What ground are you measuring to?  Make sure it is the ground on the 6008.

GCentral