Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble with DIO !

Hello everyone !

I've just bought a NI-9401 for some stuff I'm working on. I'm using Python with this device and I'm having trouble. I spent the last 3 days searching everywhere online and I couldn't seem to find any answers (I'm fairly new to both Python and NI btw).

So here is the thing : I want to test the device by transfering some floats from a digital output to a digital input.

Here is my code so far :

import nidaqmx as ni
import numpy as np
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
from nidaqmx.constants import (LineGrouping)

## Emission ##
fe = 44100
f = 440
T = 0.05
t = np.linspace(0, 0.05, fe*0.05)
sig_E = np.sin(f*2*np.pi*t)

plt.figure()
plt.subplot(211)
plt.plot(t, sig_E)
plt.title("Signal Emis")
plt.tight_layout()

with ni.Task() as task:
    task.do_channels.add_do_chan("cDAQ1Mod1/port0/line0", line_grouping=LineGrouping.CHAN_FOR_ALL_LINES)
    task.write(sig_E)

## Reception ##

with ni.Task() as task:
    task.di_channels.add_di_chan("cDAQ1Mod1/port0/line4", line_grouping=LineGrouping.CHAN_FOR_ALL_LINES)
    sig_R = task.read(number_of_samples_per_channel=len(t))
    plt.subplot(212)
    plt.plot(t,sig_R)
    plt.title("Signal Recu")
    plt.tight_layout()
    plt.show()

So it's 5 seconds of a sine at 440 Hz and I want to send it from the DO to the DI (linked with a cable). But the error message I get is that the "write" function can only send boolean samples and obviously I want to send floats.

So how can I send my sine through the digital output (and read it from the digital input)? What are the appropriate functions ?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Best regards.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,787 Views)

Digital = 2 values (on and off).  If you are using a single channel, then you need an analog input and output.  Or, you can convert your value into a 8 bit number and write to the entire port and read it back.

GCentral