Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trigger an output pulse every N input pulses

Hello. I am new to LabVIEW and DAQs; the examples and this forum are very helpful.

I am using a USB-6341 DAQ.

I have a digital input signal that I would like to use to trigger a digital output. I can use the Counter - Single Pulse Output example vi from the Help menu and it works as expected.

However, what I would like to achieve is to trigger the digital output only every N input pulses. eg only on odd input pulses, or only every 5th input pulse.

To achieve this I think I should count the input pulses. I can use the Counter - Count Edges example vi, which works as expected to count the imput pulses.

What I am not sure about: how can I wire the number of edges from the count edges such that it becomes a 'trigger' for a single pulse output?

If you have any suggestions, or relevant links to help me with my problem I would be very greatful.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(1,287 Views)

There are a lot of possible options, can you answer some further questions?

1. Are the external pulses arriving at a known constant rate or is it unknown?

2. Any idea what that rate is likely to be?

3. Do you need a highly precise lag time from the incoming pulse to the outgoing one you create?  Or can you allow for software timing tolerance?  (Here precise = microsec level or below, tolerance = multiple millisec of variation)

4. Some techniques may lead to missing an output pulse opportunity if incoming pulses arrive faster than expected.  Is it important never to miss?

5. What's important about the output pulse - lag time until leading edge?  time spent in high state?  Anything else?

-Kevin P