Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TTL signal generation and control for valve

Hi,

I am very new to NI and LabView and I need some help.

I have a fluidic valve that I need to provide a control signal to. The control signal is a 0-5 Vdc TTL signal (ON/OFF) that is used to regulate two power inputs to the valve (24V and 3.5V) which opens and closes the valve. 

I need to be able to precisely control this signal in terms of frequency and duty cycle. I also need to be able to provide both a continous signal and a single pulse signal.

Basically, I need LabView and the DAQ to serve as a function generator to provide a controllable 0-5V TTL signal.

My questions are what kind of DAQ do I need in terms of inputs and outputs (digital, analog, counter?) and how would generate this TTL signal in LabView?. I have this NI 9205 module and with a cDAQ-9172 and a cRIO-9204 chassis but I think the module is input only. I believe I need input and output.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(7,726 Views)

Hello Alex,

It looks like you need a digital output module. In order to be more specific than that I would need more information:

1. How many digital (0-5V TTL) outputs do you need for your application.
  2. How many digital (0-5V TTL) inputs do you need for your application.
  3. What current requirements do you have on your digital outputs? Sinking or Sourcing? 1 μA, 1 mA, 1A drive current?
  4. What about for your inputs?

It should be possible to find a digital module(s) for your application, but more information is needed.

Regards,
Dan King

Message 2 of 8
(7,703 Views)

Dan_K,

1. As of right now I need only 1 digital output but in the future at least 2.

2. Right now only 1 input but in the future at least 2.

I am really not sure about current requirements for input and ouput. In the manual the driver circuit does not give any indication of current requirements. All it says is that I need a 0-5 V TTL signal.