From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stepper Control on cDAQ-7192 through NI 9401

Hello,

I'm a senior Electrical Engineer at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute trying to perform basic stepper motor control via LabVIEW for a project and, having only limited training with the programming environment, have been muddling through the basics for some time. I currently have a pulse control sub-vi (screenshot attached) that generates a pulse signal for a specified number of output "toggles" before exiting. The vi works as expected both alone and in the main program, however "pulse output" data is not seen by the main program during execution (the information doesn't seem to be passing from the sub-vi to the main vi).

What is the proper method for getting this pulse data from the sub-vi, to the main vi, and to the DAQ Assistant so that it can be sent to the stepper? Are there any good tutorials for this type of control that I may have missed? (I've read the "9401 four pulse trains gen.vi," numerous cDAQ getting started manuals, and searched the forums as of yet to no avail)

Thanks!

- Trevor
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(4,082 Views)
Any thoughts on this? Am I interfacing the pulse signal incorrectly with the DAQ Assistant using the 'Build Array' function?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(4,059 Views)
Hi Trevor,