From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Square waveform to digital output

I'm new to Labview and I can't figure out how to do this.

I want to continuous generate a square waveform 1kHz and then digital output it with Digital I/O functions (Traditional DAQ).  I can generate the square wave but don't know how to digital output it. Can anyone help with this?? I'm using Labview 7.0.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,955 Views)

Hi,

Thanks for posting on our forum.

Are you trying to do an "hardware timed" or a "software timed" digital output.
Hardware timed generation: uses an hardware clock on the board, with this method you will have a better speed and accuracy, but not all the board are able to do that. For example, you won't be able to do that with an E-Serie Board.
Software timed generation: you are using a software loop. The accuracy and the speed are not as good as with the hardware timed generation.

I attach an example VI for a software timed DO.
You will find other examples here:
C:\Program Files\National Instruments\LabVIEW 8.6\examples\daq\digital

Best regards,

Thomas B. | CLAD
National Instruments France

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,933 Views)

Thanks for the help Thomas B.

I'm using  PCI-6024E Board. I have tested your example and in the output (line0)  the signal isn't at 1kHz. The frequency is very important to me, how can I force the frequency in the signal??

I have made a small change in your example.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,918 Views)

Hi,

First of all, if you want, you can speak french.

PCI-6024e cannot do hardware timed Digital Output.
(see attached picture)