Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PCI DIO 96 problems with Vista

Hello,

I'm a computer hardware technician who works for a company that produces industrial systems for the printing industry.  Most of our systems contains a Dell computer, with a single PCI-DIO-96 card installed to control our machine, as well as a 9-pin serial port to read from a digital scale indicator. 

My problem is that recently, the world seems to have overnight gone to Windows Vista, and I'm having severe trouble getting the National Instruments hardware to work properly with it.  I install the DIO card, and then the NIDAQmx 8.5 drivers, and everything seems to work fine for about a week.  We run our software, relays are clicking, inputs are lighting up, we figured we got lucky and National Instruments did their homework and wrote some good drivers for Vista.  We reboot the machines a few times, just to make sure everything took, and there are no problems what-so-ever...

Then anywhere from 3 days to a week passes, and suddenly, for no reason at all, the boards stop working, and Vista reports in the Device Manager "This device cannot find enough free resources that it can use. (Code 12) If you want to use this device, you will need to disable one of the other devices on this system.".   I've disabled everything unnecessary on the system (audio, extra USB ports).   I've tried other PCI-DIO-96 boards (we always have a few in stock) and nothing.

Here's the kicker...  NOTHING changed.  The machine is isolated and not online, no new hardware or software was installed, the machine just decided to "stop working".  Uninstalling and reinstalling the NIDAQmx software once or twice or swapping PCI slots the card sits in seems to fix the issue for a while, but it always returns!  When Windows Vista reports the board is in the "Code 12" state, it remains in that state indefinately.  Rebooting, etc doesn't fix it.