From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Manchester Bits generation

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi!

I am trying to generate a Manchester code through a digital output of the PXIe-6612 module.

In the attached VI, I am able to generate a Manchester code over 1ms clock. This means that as each bit is encoded in a low-to-high or high-to-low transition, each bit actually takes 2ms to transmit.

The thing is that I have to generate the signal with a period of 500us --> I would need to execute the loop every 250us.

Which is the best way to do this? I am a newbie in LabView.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,685 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Erlie

You will need to create a digital waveform task and output that through the DIO board.  This takes the timing away from your software (which will be slow) and puts it on your board (which is actually made for this).  Open the example finder (Help->Find Examples) and go to Hardware Input and Output->DAQmx->Digital Output->Digital - Finite Output.vi.  That example should be what you are looking to do.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(2,668 Views)

Thank you very much for answering!

Actually, I have taken the "Digital - Continuous Output.vi" example, as I would like to generate the same code continuously, so I think that this example would fit me better. Am I right?

First, I am trying to make the example run in my HW, and then, to modify it to adapt it to my needs.