From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to send a digital pulse from Labview to an external I/O device

Hello!

I am rather new to the Labview environment and I'm engaged in a project that makes me face challenges every now and then (good right? 🙂 )

So my new challenge is that I have in my LV program a logic that generates a pulse from user input of rising and falling edge CAD degree values. And I want to send this pulse to an external (physical) I/O device. Here is the environment I am working on: 

I am running Labview 2011 on Windows 7

I have PXI-1073 chassis connected to my PC via PCI-Express 

And I have the SCB-68 M-series connected to slot #2 of the PXI-1073 chassis. 

I would like to know how I can send my pulse from LV to a specific pin on the I/O device. I am running through the pin configurations from the user manual and the PIN out diagrams on myself but I am having difficulty (rather haven never done such a thing till now) from the programming side. 

I appreciate the prompt help. 

Regards,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 24
(8,139 Views)

The SCB-68 is just a dumb terminal block. Please provide the actual DAQ device.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 24
(8,133 Views)
Here are again the set of devices I am having. Sorry for the incomplete or not informative descripition I gave earlier.
1. NI PXIe-1073 chassis
2. NI-PXIe-6361 multifunction DAQ
3. NI-PXI-5105 high speed digitizer
4. NI SCB-68 I/O-card
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 24
(8,130 Views)

The 6361 has digital I/O that has both hardware and software timed signals. Look at the DAQmx digital generation examples (Help>Find Examples>Hardware Input and Output>DAQmx).

Message 4 of 24
(8,122 Views)