Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting the 6551 to do BOTH dynamic generation (ch 0-7) and Static Gen/Dynamic Acquisition (ch 8-15) at the SAME time

I am new to using NI devices and writing in Labview.  I am using the 6551 and running with Labview 7.1.  I have managed to successfully generate data dynamically at the right voltage levels (0.7 & 1.7v) to send to my device under test.  I have been running into problems with trying to start the dynamic gen & a static gen/dynamic acquisition at the same time.  The static generation has the voltage levels of 1.2v & 0v (pullup for the receiver).  The example I am following is posted on the NI web site (LVDS instructions).  I cannot close the device in between dynamic generations because I have to hold all signals at last state on all 8 channels. The response time back from the device under test is less than 100ms from when it receives its command.  Here are the steps I am taking:

1. Open Generation session
2. Set up channels 0-7 for dynamic generation (0.7 & 1.7v)
3. Set up channels 8-15 for static generation (0 & 1.2v) (this causes a weird drop on the lines that I am trying to acquire)
4. Open Acquisition session
5. Set up channels 8-15 for dynamic acquisition (1.2 & 1.2v)
.....some time later....
6. Start BOTH the dynamic generation & the static gen/dynamic acquistion in parallel.  (this is repeated as the device is being tested).
7. Check the acquired data - which is always coming up as 0s (incorrect).

The dynamic generation works fine, but I am not getting any data from the acquisition (and I have verified that the device I am testing is sending the proper response back to the computer using a logic analyzer).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,537 Views)

Hi nmanzo,