Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Digital Bidirectional Line for Asynchronous Serial Data using USB-6009?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm rather new to the LabVIEW environment so I'm a little bit confused about this.

I have a signal conditioner chip (MAX1452), which I'm trying to communicate with via the digital line.

The line is a bi-directional, half-duplex asychronous serial.

I'm currently attempting to set this up with a USB6009, and essentially what I'm trying to do is write some digital data (1 start bit, 8 bits, 1 stop bit, no parity, TTL logic) to the chip and read the response back. Is it possible to reconfigure a digital port on the USB-6009 from an input to an output? 

Or is there a better way for me to implement this?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,111 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Gabriel Loh

Hi Gabriel,

It is not possible to simultaneously have a digital line on an NI product be both a digital input and output.  It is possible that using the DAQmx commands, you can create a virtual channel that is a digital output, write the data, and clear the task.  After that you can try to create a new virtual channel that is a digital input, read the data, and then clear the task.  However, the USB 6009 is a simple device, so it may not support this functionality.

Hope this helps get you started,

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(5,089 Views)

You would need to use 2 digital lines; one for input and one for output.  Tie the two together and write your code to send on the output and read from the input.  Since the outputs of the 6009 are open collector, make sure you write a "1" to the output bit before trying to read.  This would allow the line to float so the MAX1452 can drive the line high and low. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(5,064 Views)

Is it possible to use a FTDI device like UM232. It is a USB UART with TTL level.

Kees

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(5,059 Views)