Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling 3 Stepper motors with Step/Direction over Daq 9184 and 9401

Hello,

I am new to LabView and very gratfull for help.

For a project I need to controll 3 Stepper motor independently over an Step/Direction Interface. For this interface I need to generate digital impulses where every impuls will be interpretet by the motor as a stepp and on the second channel a constatnt 0 or 1 value for the direction interface. I need to contoll for every stepper independently: The frequency = speed, Direction = 0 or 1, Samples = Continuous or finit and get the written sample count for position calculation.

In short Generating 3 indepentend frequencys and 3x independent Boolean values for output.

I am using a Daq 9184 Chassi and a 9401 for digital IO with Trinamic stepper motors.

The biggest problem at the moment is: Contolling more than one motor (the ctrX output seems to go to every pin or none), to count the samples, the generall conception.

I attached my first not so ideal working try for just one motor.
Thank you very much for help in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,366 Views)

Hello,

my name is Alex, I am an applications engineer working for NI Germany.

You can select the output terminal that you want to use for your step signal using the CO.Pulse.Term property. In the constant which is wired to it you can select one of the PFI lines of your 9401 module. Digital IO lines are called PFI if they are used for counter input or output.

I hope this information is helpful for you.

Best regards

Alex

Applications Engineering Intern, NI Germany
Certified LabVIEW Developer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(5,337 Views)

Respected Sir,