DQMH Consortium Toolkits Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mocking / Stubbing a Broadcast Event

Hi All!

I am a beginner in DQMH and I'm still seeking its usage to the fullest potential - I'd also like to to test my modules as decoupled and isolated as possible - and this is the reason for the question at hand:

Imagine we have Continuous Measurement and Logging DQMH template - with Logger, UI, Acquisition and Settings module. In Logger API tester there is a nice way to log whatever waveform we want, because it is a simple Request Event. I'd like to extend the testability of the UI module to the same degree - to somehow create the <Acquisition.Data Updated> User Event from my tester, that would go the same path as the original Event - but remain in the scope of the module. This way I'd be able to verify the UI behavior without the need of running the whole code and I'd be able to test some corner cases.

Till now, I was able to come up with two approaches to this thing:

1. Create an additional Integration Tester, starting both CML UI and Acquisition DQMH modules. This would move us from "unit" testing to "integration" testing and this depends on how well the Acquisition module is written when it comes to decoupling it from hardware. This is something I am looking into, but I'd really prefer to be able to pass any random waveform instead and isolate my tests.

2. Make an additional Request Event that matches the data type of Acquisition Broadcast Event. This gives me the level of isolation I want, but I end up with additional API calls that are only valid for the tests and I need to pay attention that my other developers are not using those for anything other than testing - not to mention the mess it creates.

Is there anything I am missing in my exploration of DQMH features that might come in handy in occasions like this?

Bartosz

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,369 Views)
Hi Bartosz,