From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

DQMH Consortium Toolkits Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Large data transfer between modules

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to DQMH, but was thinking of using DQMH for a project in which I collect and store video. I'm not using IMAQdx. Each frame is 300k bytes.

Would it be acceptable to use DQMH request events to transfer frames between a module that collects the images and another that stores them to disk and another that analyzes them in real time? Or would that be too inefficient? 

Thanks, 

David

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(4,541 Views)
Solution
Accepted by FabiolaDelaCueva

If you were worried, you could just send a DVR.

Sam Taggart
CLA, CPI, CTD, LabVIEW Champion
DQMH Trusted Advisor
Read about my thoughts on Software Development at sasworkshops.com/blog
GCentral
Message 2 of 15
(4,513 Views)

Of course! Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(4,505 Views)

IMAQ image is a special beast in LabVIEW, it's a by ref data type so I don't think you need to use DVR.

Forking an image wire doesn't duplicate the image data.

If you have time, take a look at this thread on Lava.org : https://lavag.org/topic/21212-imaqimage-references/Imaq where this is being discussed.

Also, do you really need to transfer your image from one DQMH module to another one?

You might, if one is doing the acquisition and another one is doing processing but if it's only acquire and save as video, one module with 1 or 2 helper loops might be enough.

Also, one general piece of advice I would give about buffer management for IMAQ images is to pre-allocate 2 separate sets of buffers for acquisition and for images to be saved. And a 3rd one for processing if so needed.