DQMH Consortium Toolkits Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DQMH modules listening to each other's broadcasts

Solved!
Go to solution

In the standard DQMH project, the main.vi in the main application, uses the static event registration (if that's what it's called, I'm not a labview expert) just before the execution enters the do-while loop. Then as the individual modules get launched the event structure inside one of the states of the do-while loop gets dynamically registered with the "current", "fresh" copy of the event ref-num from the module instance being launched. Since when the main application is launched, no other module is running the initial static registration is null, in which case why bother? it is to establish certain registration order? I realize this is more of a labview/events question than DQMH question, but up until DQMH I've never seen or used dynamic event registration before, and I really like it. See attached photo.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,124 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Rafal_Kor

Hey Rafal_Kor,

this post might answer your question: https://forums.ni.com/t5/Delacor-Toolkits-Discussions/Helper-loops-for-active-repetitive-tasks/m-p/3.... The whole thread and the blog post mentioned in it might be of interest to you.

Cheers,
Joerg

Edit: The editor ate up the URL, fixed it.

DSH Pragmatic Software Development Workshops (Fab, Steve, Brian and me)
Release Automation Tools for LabVIEW (CI/CD integration with LabVIEW)
HSE Discord Server (Discuss our free and commercial tools and services)
DQMH® (The Future of Team-Based LabVIEW Development)

Message 2 of 5
(3,115 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Rafal_Kor

It's to define data type.  User Events and Registration refnums and event structures all need defined data types.  The initial event registration code is defining the data types at edit time, even though at runtime none of the events are yet created.

Message 3 of 5
(3,105 Views)