DQMH Consortium Toolkits Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clever Move or Bad Move?

Hi,

I am just getting started with DQMH and I am wondering if this technique is a good move or if there are reasons to avoid it.

Lets say I have two modules, Module A and Module B. I create a Request event in Module B called "Call Module B Message Case" with the same arguments for enqueuing a message, a string for the message and a variant for the data. Module A can then use this single Public Request to execute any case in the MHL of Module B and change its state.

Thoughts?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,604 Views)

My question is: Why?

What are you trying to achieve?  What is your use case?

Sam Taggart
CLA, CPI, CTD, LabVIEW Champion
DQMH Trusted Advisor
Read about my thoughts on Software Development at sasworkshops.com/blog
GCentral
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,584 Views)

also try not to be a clever programmer, because the next guy who comes along is probably not as clever and won't have a clue what you were trying to do (and that next person could be you, several years from now.)

Sam Taggart
CLA, CPI, CTD, LabVIEW Champion
DQMH Trusted Advisor
Read about my thoughts on Software Development at sasworkshops.com/blog
GCentral
Message 3 of 8
(2,581 Views)

In this case, Module A is a system controller module and Module B is a display module. The controller module contains the main user interface meaning that the controls/buttons reside there, while the display module is mostly reserved for indicators / graphs.