From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

DQMH Consortium Toolkits Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best practice for using DQMH to trigger tests from the parallel process model in TestStand

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello DQMH and TestStand users!

We are working on a test system that uses the parallel process model in TestStand, but unlike in all the examples I've seen, the tests for each test socket need to be "triggered" from hardware rather than from the operator entering a serial number and pressing "go".

I'm not that experienced with TestStand, but I believe the best way to do this will be to override the PreUUT model callback in the main sequence with something that monitors our hardware input, correct?

Now, if our hardware monitoring software is a lovely, testable DQMH module (actually a cloneable module as we'll have 24 test sockets monitored by three serial ports), could we register for it's broadcast events in a VI in our PreUUT override sequence so we don't have to continuously poll the DQMH module? and then somehow notify our test socket to start testing on this broadcast event? Or, should we be doing this differently somehow, i.e. are we better to keep polling the DQMH module via a request event?

I'm just after some advice on how best to implement this DQMH hardware trigger in a parallel process mode. Any examples or experience would help greatly as we'd rather code it up right the first time!

Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,468 Views)

You can certainly call a broadcast event from TestStand so you don't have to poll.  I did a presentation at NI Week last year that kinda shows how to do this.  I'm attaching it here.  Look at the broadcast section.