DQMH Consortium Toolkits Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fire event within the main application using DQMH?

I am new to DQMH. In my application I have

1. Controller - Reads configuration file and calls respective instrument. Using EHL and MHL (producer/consumer pattern).

2. Power Supply - Gets the event message from controller. Sends the event back to controller.

3. Scope - Gets the event message from controller. Sends the event back to controller.

My question:

1. Controller -  How do I invoke an event programmatically within the controller? For example when the broadcast is received by the controller (lets say from Scope), if Scope message status is success then I need to programmatically generate event so that controller can invoke the event (say Next Test) case.

Thanks.

CLD
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,338 Views)

If all three entities you describe (Controller, Power Supply, and Scope) are DQMH Modules, then any module can send a request (or register for a broadcast) from any other module. So I guess I don't fully understand the question?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(1,333 Views)

Hi Ivrat,

In your description, for the Power supply and scope modules you state "Gets the event message from controller. Sends the event back to controller."

Two questions:

1) Is the controller calling Request and Wait For Reply events from the Power supply and Scope?  If yes, then so far so good.  If no, then could you elaborate what you mean by "Sends the event back to controller"?

2) Assuming you said yes to the previous question, the controller would be eventually receiving a reply from the Power supply and Scope to indicate that the action has been completed, and then the Controller can continue to do the next task.

If you're creating a test sequencer here, then I recommend you don't use self-queuing in the MHL to act as a sequencer.  Instead, you'll want a state machine to manage the test sequence.

Christopher Farmer