cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

“Obtain Request Events for Registration.vi” of modules that are not started yet

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everybody,

I am new to DQMH and have issues registering to events of modules that are not stared yet. 

My architecture:

"Module Main":

• Starts Module "TestSelection"
    • Starts Module "Test01"
      • Starts Clonable Modules "A", "B", "C"  (and stops them when finished)
      • I did it this way so that each "TestXY" Module starts and stopes the required modules itself.

I would like to register for the "Error Reported" Events of all modules in "Module Main" for a centralised Error Handling (to avoid implementing Error-Handling/Error Messages in each Module).

What would be a good way to do this? 

In https://delacor.com/dqmh-documentation/dqmh-best-practices/ a "Private DQMH Request Event" was mentioned, but I didn't fully understand this approach. 

Alternatively in a similar case in https://forums.ni.com/t5/DQMH-Consortium-Toolkits/What-is-a-good-method-that-is-used-specifically-fo... it was mentioned that the Main-Module should do all the starting and stopping of modules (but this seems a bit more messy because the Main-Module would need to do much more than I wanted). 

I am thankful for any advice!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(1,167 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author hallo2014

@hallo2014 wrote:

In https://delacor.com/dqmh-documentation/dqmh-best-practices/ a "Private DQMH Request Event" was mentioned, but I didn't fully understand this approach. 

The best practices talk about having a request for the sole purpose of communicating from the MHL to the EHL. When the MHL starts a module, it sends the event references to the EHL so the EHL can update the event registration. This request should not be called from outside the module, so its access scope should be set to private. Taken from the best practices: