DQMH Consortium Toolkits Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Incorporating NI-DAQmx change detection (events) in DQMH module

I am very new to Delacor framework but I already like it a lot. 

I am working on the module that is responsible for rising/falling edge detection on a couple of digital lines (with NI-6509).

I used this example to get corresponding User Events

https://forums.ni.com/t5/Example-Programs/DAQmx-Change-Detection-Event-Registration/ta-p/3502871

I thought that the NI-DAQmx initialization part can be done in "Start Acquiring" frame (of Acquisition MHL from DQHM CML example) and detection itself can be in the "Helper" Loop. But it is not clear to me what would be the proper way of either passing refnum/registering for hardware events from MHL to Helper.

Any suggestions?

It seems like this question has not been answered here

https://forums.ni.com/t5/Delacor-Toolkits-Discussions/Using-NI-DAQmx-Events-with-DQMH/td-p/3798769

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(4,634 Views)

My suggestion would be to let the helper loop deal with theDAQmx task.

I would create a request "start helper loop" for which the argument contains all the parameters required to create/open the DAQmx task.

This way you can start the helper loop directly from the Tester with whatever params you want.

What are you planning to do when an edge is detected?

We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak.

Epictetus

Antoine Chalons

Message 2 of 16
(4,561 Views)

Thanks a lot for your response. I believe I was doing what you suggested. I was not sure how one can register Event Structure for both User and Signal Events.

Since it is not a typical Helper Loop (with measurements performed in timed out case) I followed Joerg Hampel recipe here (UPDATE 2018-03-02)

https://www.hampel-soft.com/blog/dqmh-actors-self-messaging-or-helper-loops/