From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

DQMH Consortium Toolkits Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DQMH Module Layout Help - create 2 motor modules or 2 control modules?

Hey Fancy Folk,

I'm looking for some project layout help regarding my DQMH modules.  Long story short, I work with motors and I want to create a generic motor template.  The issue I'm running into is how to design the controls for the motor module.  Below is an image of my basic module layout and then ill talk about what my I'm planning on doing.  Since I am relatively new to DQMH, I wanted to see if there are better options than what I am going to do.

Matt_AM_0-1659551085937.png

So when it comes to motor controls, I typically am either using a brushed DC motor, which is controlled by an H bridge and 3 DIOs, or a brushless DC motor, which is controlled by ignition and CAN messaging.  Ideally I'd like a "controls module" to handle the coms between the brushed and brushless, but the problem I am seeing is that they are too different for control.  So I'm thinking about making 2 different motor modules, a brushed and a brushless which would take away the need to force the 2 controls schemes into 1 controls module.