Community Browser
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: How the "End User License Agreement" enables the LabVIEW DIYer

Rick_K
NI Employee (retired)

Of course, NI has a general "End User License Agreement" for NI software. Whether you just click through all EULAs or read every word, you will be happy to know that there is some verbiage in our contract to specifically address using LabVIEW at home. Section 7 of the the Software EULA is entitled the "Home usage Exception." Lets be clear, I am no lawyer, and therefore not qualified to officially interpret legal documents. So before I say anything, here is the entire section unabridged (and as always I am sure... subject to change):

7. Home Usage Exception. Notwithstanding anything in this Agreement to the contrary, if you are a business or other entity, the designated Named User for the applicable license (or in the case of single seat license, the primary user of the single computer on which the SOFTWARE is installed and used) may also install and use the SOFTWARE on one (1) computer located in such user′s home, provided that (i) the use of the SOFTWARE is pursuant to one of the licenses enumerated in Section 2 above (other than a debug license, concurrent use license, or academic research license); and (ii) the use of the SOFTWARE on such home computer is limited to work performed in the scope of such person′s employment with you and complies with all terms and conditions of this Agreement other than as expressly set forth in this Section 7. The SOFTWARE must be promptly uninstalled from the home computer upon the termination of the designated Named User′s employment with you or the termination of this Agreement (whichever is earlier). Notwithstanding the foregoing, if you have a debug license, concurrent use license, or academic research license, this Home Usage Exception does not apply to you.