From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

DIAdem

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

An issue while indexing TDMS files in Diadem

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all!

I’m new to the Diadem environment, and I have faced an issue.

I have a data acquisition software that was built in LabVIEW, the data is being saved from the software in TDMS files,

The data waveform must be organized in the following hierarchy:

• The type of measurement taken (voltage, current etc.…)
    • The event the measurements was taken in
      • The DUT that was recorded

The way we have thought to do this so far is to creates the TDMS files in the following manner:

A file for every type of data acquired (for example: a file for voltage, current, etc.)

Inside the file there is a group for each “event” recorded, those events are number in an indexed manner (i.e. Event 1, Event 2 etc.…)

The group contains a waveform for each UUT device recorded in the event (Device 1, Device 2, etc...)

Attached to this are two files for example

When I do make the files in this manner I face the following issue:

When I open the first of these files in Diadem everything is fine, and the file is indexed correctly (see photo below)

photo 1photo 1

When I try to add a second file to the Data portal, instead of showing the file separately (using the group name inside the file) Diadem adds the new file to the same data source and continue to index of the groups from the end of the previous files (see photo)

photo 2photo 2

It is important to note that the example files are small, but in real applications I can have many UUT’s and many events, storing data from serval parameters. therefore, this issue makes data analysis very tough.

My questions: