From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Counter/Timer

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

using counter on NI 9401

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

we ordered the cRIO 9035 system with several Modules.

One of them is the NI9401.

I want to use this module to count the pulses of a flow-meter.

Infront, I'm a beginner and just startet to watch lots of tutorials and created basic VI's

1. Does this Module have counters on board, or is it only possible to use the "hardware"-counters in the Chassis via this Module?

I'm asking this, because I can set the Module via "Speciality Digital Configuration" as counter.
    If I do so, would it be possible to simply create a while loop, place the channel inside and link it to a numeric element?
    Or is the only way to count pulses (rising edge) to use VI's like the "Edge Counter VI" from the example VI's?

2. My flowmeter uses a Hallsensor and produces rectangular pulses at max 40 Hz.
    Is it absolutely required to use FPGA or can I use a VI on the Host-Computer?

We use 4 of these flowmeters (and many more sensors like Termocouples (NI 9211), magnetic valves (NI 9482) or an AKD-Servomotor (NI 9472).

All the measured Data has to be written in a File (e.g. exel sheet).

The magnetic valves have to be activated if a certian number of pulses is counted.

Again, is it absolutely required to use FPGA or can I use a VI on the Host-Computer?

I know there is a lot to do and I have to learn much more, but I'm on it (its for my Masterthesis).

For the moment, answers to the questions about the existing or not existing on-board counter would be great.

Thanks for your support.

Greetings from Germany,

Lukas

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(4,659 Views)
Solution
Accepted by luke2dah

Hi Lukus,