Counter/Timer

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measuring duty cycle with NI-DAQmx Python on USB-6218

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone ! I am a student and very new to this and am still getting familiar with the basics. I am working on a project with an electronic card.

I have to send some commands on the serial link of the card to activate and deactivate some I/O in order to measure different voltages on the card and to validate some tests. I want to automate these tests using python and the NI-DAQmx Python API.

Currently, I have 28 analog voltages to measure and 2 analog voltages to send that's why I am using the DAQ USB-6218 with its 32 analog inputs and its 2 analog outputs. Also, the input range of 10 V suits me perfectly due to the fact that most of my voltages are between 0 and 10 V.

I need also to measure a current of 241 mA, but it would be better to measure its duty cycle which is at a frequency of 5 kHz, Pulse width = 111 μs, Period = 199 μs, so duty cycle = Pulse width / Period = 111/199 = 0.56.

Even if I managed to code the acquisition of my analog voltages and to send the analog voltages I wanted, I am currently struggling for the duty cyle part ...

For the voltage acquisition I am currently using this sample which is working very well :

##################################################################
# imports

import nidaqmx
import time
from builtins import input

# Function definition

def first_test():
    #Function for first test
    voltage_ai0 = task_ai0.read()
    print("Voltage on port AI 0 : ", voltage_ai0)
    if 2.475 < voltage_ai0 and voltage_ai0 < 2.525:
        First_test = True
    else :
        First_test = False
    return First_test

# main function

if __name__ == '__main__':
    print("------------------------------------")
    print("Starting Voltage Acquisition..")
    input("Press Enter to continue...")

#First test
    task_ai0 = nidaqmx.Task()