Counter/Timer

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Counting a pair of mutually gated pulses, while simultaneously counting all three pulses

Hi all

I hope you can help me (I've been struggling with this problem for about a week 😞). I wouldn't say I'm completely new to LabVIEW, but I am quite new to data acquisiton of the type to come.

I have three single photon counting modules (Excelitas SPCM-AQRH) which generate pulses roughly 30ns in width. These are connected to a PCI-6602 module using a BNC-2121 (to PFI lines 38, 34 and 30, with the latter physically wired to a user defined BNC input terminal).

My goal is two-fold: to individually count the number of pulses coming from the three input signals with no gating on any of them (using the internal timebase 80MHz clock as a sample clock if need be), and simultaneously count the number of pulses on two of the signal lines, while using the third signal to gate the other two. So in total, I need to measure five quantities: the three individual count rates, plus two count rates gated by the third.

I have an old Legacy DAQ VI which more or less does the job, but it unfortunately accumulates the counts instead of giving me the counts per time step (I got it from a previous post-graduate student, and is also badly written). I'm also trying to rewrite this Legacy VI using the more contemporary DAQmx framework.