From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Counter/Timer

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calculate the derivative of a function over time

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello guys ! 

Sorry If I don't write well, It is my first question to the community.. and I am a newbie- Labview user.(neither a good enlish speaker 🤐)

I need for an universitary projet to calculate the derivative dY of a function as shown with the picture attached: dY

My calculation is very simple : dY=Y(t)-Y(t-dt).

I also have attached the Vi I created to do it.

It works well when it is the only Vi I call , but when I use it as a Sub-Vi  in a projet ...and you may know here is my issue ..

It stays in the while loop (that is kind obsious since I need to call it to stop😅)

I have first thought that I could create some kind of boolean waveform whom  stops the while-loop  every Tcycle, but I am afraid the data would not be saved in the appened array...

Here is my question : How can I simply get this derivative, with a Sub-Vi callable, from a big projet-vi  and maybe without using a while-loop?

I have also looked at other community questions, and a Timer-loop may be the solution, but I have never used it before.. 

Regards 😊

Victorin 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(6,277 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Lars_Novice

Do you really just need dY or do you need dY/dt?

And if you need dY/dt, should the time be based on input values for time or should it be figured automatically based on the time the calculation is done according to the PC's real-time clock?

Either way, the code is far more complicated than it needs to be.   For example, here's what the subvi code could look like for dY alone (assuming you want the initial dY to be 0):