From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Certification

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sample CLD (Boiler Controller) Solution for Review

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I have solved the Boiler Control example, as part of my CLD practice.

Can you guys please review it?

I couldn't meet the timing deadline but I think I can do it with some practice.

Also please excuse the documentation part. I hav done almost nothing on that as of now.

I would like to see comments on architecture, functionality, code readability, etc.

Thanks in advance.

Moni

**If necessity is the mother of invention, I bet laziness is the father.**
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(7,159 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author mmoni

I'm studying for the CLD myself and haven't passed it, so take my comments with a grain of salt.

A few suggestions. They're all very minor.

1) For your next practice, take the last 10 minutes of the 4 hours and do documentation. Those are fast, easy points. It's even better if you document as you go - just type a quick description of what you're doing in each frame, and add documentation to your VI Properties (especially your main one).

2) This is very minor, but I noticed a lot of coercion dots. A Quick Drop and Ctrl+I will clear those out quickly.

3) I think you should hide your debug indicators for State Q. At least move them off to the side, away from the desired front panel.

4) Shift cluster should definitely be a typedef.

5) Is there a reason you used a "File Directory/Info" instead of a "Check if File Exists" function? This is more a curiosity question than anything; the way you coded is functional, but sort of indirect.