CSLUG - Central South LabVIEW User Group (UK)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Logging Script Folder LV9.zip

Here's version in LV9...

#############################################################

I've added a new version (at least I think I have!).

I've put in a queued logging option and removed the global logged data.

This will the reduce the risk of losing data (missing a global update). Also the queued part could include some logging to file because time is spent in this loop won't cause issues in your other loops

Hope it helps

Steve Watts

#################################################

ooops that was the original. Version 3 is the Queued version

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(8,498 Views)

Hi Steve,

Yes that looks alot better!  I like the way the feedback nodes work here in the LoggedDataQ vi - must admit I've never used them in this way before.  Also lke the way the logging loop is closed when the queue is deleted - pretty sneaky!

Thanks a million for your advise.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(5,308 Views)

I've implemented some logging of serial (RS232 and RS485) comms which can be enabled using a registry entry. I place a logging vi in a common transmit/receive vi used by all our comms and this will log all data if the correct entry in the registry is set. This solution works in production so we can enable or disable logging but the operators have no knowledge of what is going on. I also allow different log files to be used for different events (environmental chamber control to one file, temp/humidity sensor to another, serial data measurements to another) and set a maximum file size which renames and creates a new file to allow logging to be left on for long periods (we have some 8 hours tests).