From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

BreakPoint

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

brainstorming about carrier options; should I learn a second computer language? :)

@Blokk wrote:

I am a 37 y old physicist by qualifications (MSc and PhD in physics) but recently I would say, work more as a "technician"/LV programmer in a research center doing some technical physics experiments. This involves a little project management (meaning some paperwork to give reports for the budget responsibles), building up experimental rigs, programming them usually with LabVIEW (otherwise other colleagues manage this part using Siemens platforms, PLCs and PCS7 soft). Also, I supervise ongoing experiments/projects, analyzing data, and writing either publications (or supporting others writing them) or giving reports. So in a nutshell, this is the kind of work environment I am in the last 6-7 years until today, lets say.

I was in a very similar situation ten years ago when my wife wanted to move back to the UK from California.  I made the jump to being a self-employed consultant doing LabVIEW full time.  This was aided by my wife getting a well-paid (and, more importantly, reliable) job.

It was also aided by the fact that I was "the LabVIEW expert" and could get considerable paid hours with the people I had been working for in California.  You should take a moment to consider if your current employer is going to regret letting you go, if you are the only person there with significant LabVIEW experience.   If so, there is a possibility of converting them to a client, if you were to go the consulting route.   It is very difficult to start consulting, but if you can build up clients it has the advantage of lots of interesting variety.