From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

BreakPoint

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW - College to Indusrty

hello Friends,

i am a Master's student in Electrical Engineering. Most students like me are confused about how to meet the expectations of employers. We have a good start in LabVIEW and have access to all the packages but need direction and guidance from the experienced people. i would like to know what is the best way to learn LabVIEW from the view point of getting a job.

I am not a beginner. I have cleared the CLAD exam and now preparing for the CLD. My problem is that I do not have much experience with live projects. But my university has a site license and hence I can work on all the modules like IMAQ, Signal Processing, Sound and Vibration, LabWindows, TestStand etc. Which modules must I try and master? I would aslo like to know if there are any good hobby projects which will help me show my knowledge in LabVIEW. Also is there any place from where i can get cheap and used hardware?

Thanks a lot for all the help.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(6,003 Views)
My best suggestion about what you will work on in actual industry is that 99.9% of all applications that I have written have 4 key points.

1. A great user interface.

2. Some kind of data acquisition (GPIB, SERIAL, DAQ, IMAQ, etc.)

3. Use of some kind of hardware for acquisition (daq boards, pxi, vxi, fieldpoint, or other)

4. Some way to log it to a file. ( tab delimited text, or using the report generation toolkit)

I have been in the automation/test industry for about 5 years and this is what I have seen. If you can master these simple points you should be well on your way.