From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Biomedical User Group Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm going to develop an Intelligent Lie detection system for my final year project.Please help me with these questions?

I'm going to develop an Intelligent Lie detection system in labview.but which sensors should i use to acquire blood pressure, heart beat and respiratory signals?since i'm new to Labview i dont have an idea about what DAQ hardware to use.i preffer to have a USB interface for the DAQ hardware which i think is very cheaper.does it cost a lot of money to develop this system? i cannot afford more than $500.please help me to initiate my Project.also can i use one DAQ hardware to connect 4 sensors to monitor the signals?please help me.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(5,836 Views)

Hi Irshu,

Usually lie detector systems rely on skin conductance, heart rate, and respiration signals. Getting blood pressure in real-time is difficult and invasive (usually only done in a hospital setting).  Please check which signals you really need and understand how you will analyze these biosignals to determine truth/lie in a response.

LabVIEW is an excellent tool to make such a system and our Biomedical Starter Kit (available free here: http://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-12646 ) will help you get started quickly with an example program for acquiring signals with the datalogger program.

For hardware you will be able to use one of NI's low-cost USB devices like the USB-6009.  The biosignals that you are acquiring and measuring are relatively slow signals that you can successively digitize at 500 samples/sec or even slower in the case of skin conductance or respiration.