Biomedical User Group Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use DAQ in misuration of Range of Motion (ROM)?

Hi, i'm a student of physiotherapy!

I would do a study for the end of my studies..

I would misure the variation of range of motion (articular range) after apply tape on specific muscles..

So:

i want misure the range of motion of a articolation

i want apply a tape and after some time i want misure the range of motion of articolation and see if there is difference!

but, i would misure accuratly the range of motion and i would misure the movement in 3D because our movement are always in three floors of movement. So i dont't want use a classic goniometer..

So, i'm asking my self if is possible to use elecrodes which misure the movement in the space and, if yes, wich instrument i have need to do is.

Maybe is a simple answer, but i'm only a student and i don't know so well the informatic world..

Thank you for your attention, i hope some one can help me..

and sorry for my not so good english (i'm italian ). If  i not explane well my project please do questions!

bye bye!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(3,663 Views)

I don't know of any way to get absolute position measurements of a limb based on biopotentials (EMG, etc.) - I do no think it is possible.  EMG activity is related to activation of muscle tissue, which is related to force - not position.  So you can get high levels of EMG activity even when there is no movement (think of measuring EMG activity when a subject is trying to lift an immovable object - lots of muscle activity and effort, but no movement).