BLT for LabVIEW (Build, License, Track)

Highlighted

Rolling back to a previous version

How do I rollback from the currently installed version?

 

Can this rollback be initiated from the client?  Since they would be the first to find out if there is a bug in the latest version.

 

Is the previous version saved on the client for manual recovery if need be?

 

Is there a way to generate a report or quickly view what version the various clients are running?

 

Is there a way to force an update or popup warning that an update is mandatory (if running a different version)?

 

thanks,

 

Neville.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(343 Views)
4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted

Re: Rolling back to a previous version

The client always checks for the latest version available on the server. If the client as a different version than the latest one available on the server, it will offer to download and apply this update. This is valid if the client has a version lower or higher than the latest one available. This is how you can rollback to a previous version.

For instance, if you published, 1.0.0.0 ; 1.0.0.1 and 1.0.0.2, and your client is running 1.0.0.2. If you want the client to roll back to 1.0.0.1, you have to delete 1.0.0.2 from BLT.

 

The Beta Release feature might be of interest for you: https://www.studiobods.com/help/bltforlabview/Advanced.html#BetaRelease

It allows to publish an update as Beta. In this case, only the Licenses that are allowed to access Beta releases will see this update. This allows you to test an update before you make it available publicly to other users (license).

 

In the above example, you could also change the 1.0.0.2 product version to be a Beta (https://www.studiobods.com/help/bltforlabview/ManageProductversions.html). This will offer all Licenses not being allowed to access Beta releases to rollback to 1.0.0.1.

 

BLT doesn't offer a direct way to generate a report of the versions being used by the different users. This is something we could consider for a future release if you are interested in.

Right now, the way you can achieve this is by going to the BLT tree and expand Products > [Product Name] > Product versions > [version #] > Machines or Licenses.

Here you will be able to see which Machines / Licenses are using this particular product version.

 

You can also expand the Sessions of a particular License or Machine. The session always shows the Product version that was used during that session.

 

In order to force an Update (make it mandatory), you need to enable the "Auto Update" attribute when you publish (https://www.studiobods.com/help/bltforlabview/Advanced.html#Auto%20update) or afterward (https://www.studiobods.com/help/bltforlabview/ManageProductversions.html)

 

Hope this helps.



Matthias Baudot | Software Architect | Founder at STUDIO BODs


STUDIO BODs     BLT for LabVIEW     LabVIEW Champion     Certified Professional Instructor     DQMH Trusted Advisor     GCentral Sponsor


 Check out my LabVIEW presentations and videos!

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(337 Views)
Highlighted

Re: Rolling back to a previous version

Matthias,

 

I built a Beta version, it completed, but I don't see it under Product Versions.  Is it placed somewhere else?

 

thanks,

 

Neville.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(325 Views)
Highlighted

Re: Rolling back to a previous version

Hi Neville, 

 

It should show up under Product Versions.

Did you try to reload the items in the tree?

2020-02-28_11-35-56.png



Matthias Baudot | Software Architect | Founder at STUDIO BODs


STUDIO BODs     BLT for LabVIEW     LabVIEW Champion     Certified Professional Instructor     DQMH Trusted Advisor     GCentral Sponsor


 Check out my LabVIEW presentations and videos!

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 5
(323 Views)
Highlighted

Re: Rolling back to a previous version

Thanks.

 

N.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 5
(321 Views)
Reply
This is an open group. Sign in and click the "Join Group" button to become a group member and start posting.