Automotive and Embedded Networks

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

trouble transmitting commands to CAN device with USB-8473

I'm using a USB-8473 to control a actuator with CAN capabilities. I am new to programming CAN applications so this may be a bit basic.

I am using the Transmit Receive same Port VI given in the labview examples to communicate with the device and I am able to receive data fine, but when I try to transmit I am getting no response from the actuator. I'm thinking it may be something as simple as not inputting the data correctly in the Data to Write field.

I'm using a baudrate of 500000 as specified by the manufacturer, using a arbitration ID of 0x235, motorola byte order, J2284 structure. The manufacturer said that I need to transmit messages every 30ms at the 500kbaud rate so I changed the looping speed in the block diagram to 30ms.

the two commands on that ID are to turn on the actuator and move it to its desired position.

Desired Position is 16bits, starting at Pos 0, min value of 0x0 and max of 0x3E8

command ON is 1 bit starting position 16, min value of 0x0 max of 0x1

I've tried putting values into the data values but get no response from the actuator. I would assume that I just put a value of 1 into the third byte of data to command ON to the device and then some value into the 1st and 2nd byte to command a position, but I get no response. I've also tried just putting a value of 1 in all the fields and get no response. Is there something that I'm missing here.

When I probe the error line I get a code when trying to write to the device:
Warning 1073094763 occurred at NI-CAN ReadMult
Network Interface Object
(ncReadNetMult.vi)
Possible reason(s):
NI-CAN:  (Hex 0x3FF6206B) CAN bus problems detected (no ack), but communication is proceeding. This warning corresponds to CAN Error Passive state. Solutions: Verify that cabling is correct, devices are connected and operational, and proper bus power is applied.