From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Automotive and Embedded Networks

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to read an array in the ECUMC measurement category from an OEM ECU.

I am new to ECUMC and CAN communication.  I am using a NI-9862 in a cDAQ-9181 and communicating with an OEM ECU.  I have a parameter that is an array of dimension 4 X 1 but it is of the Measurement type parameter instead of the Characteristic type parameter.  I do not see a way to read an array in the Measurement category. All other parameters that meet the standard data type criteria in ECUMC seem to work as desired. I was supplied with a basic VI set from the ECU manufacturer for communication to their ECU, however, they do not use the ECUMC.  They have incorporated their own dll, presumably written in some form of C, and it does not lend itself being incorporated into other VI's.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(6,795 Views)

You should take a look at the ECUMC Manual linked below. After skimming through the Measurement section it looks like you should be able to use a DAQ Read within a Measurement Task to pull information from that parameter type. 

ECU Measurement and Calibration Toolkit User Manual - National Instruments:
http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/371601j.pdf

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(6,761 Views)

I have look through the manual and have determined that the DAQ Read vi only supports a single value per channel per sample.  This was confirmed by NI tech support and now I am trying to find a way around this. Has anyone else run into this issue, and found an alternative?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(6,753 Views)