From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Automotive and Embedded Networks

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clarification about Sample Clock timing with XCP

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I'm new to XCP and just started playing around with the DAQ list APIs.  I'm scratching my head over how XCP DAQ lists are timed and wanted to clear up my understanding.  I'm using XCP over CAN, which is an asynchronous serial protocol. 

My undestanding has been that when using a DAQ list, there was a register on the XNET board that always maintained the most recent XCP signal sample transmitted from the ECU and that there was a sample clock on the XNET hardware responsible for latching that most recent sample into a FIFO.  With a 10 ms event channel and a sample rate of 1000 Hz (1 ms period), I can indeed see that I get ~10 repeat samples at a time, which makes total sense.  However, I just realized that with "MC DAQ List Initialize.vi" I can specify an arbitrarily high (I tried up to 100 GHz) sample rate, and the XCP API doesn't error and does seem to return me data at that rate.  (I get tons of repeat samples, and the dt in the waveform reflects my selected sample clock period.)   I can't imagine that the hardware supports clocks this fast, so I'm revising my assumption of a hardware resampler to a software resampler.  I'm guessing that the hardware latches ALL incoming XCP signal samples into a FIFO with a timestamp (determined by the Timing Source property), and that in the driver/software layer, the data is resampled to the requested sample rate.  Is that an accurate statement?

Message 1 of 9
(3,656 Views)

It is not possible to set hardware timed clock for XCP or CCP with ECUMC Toolkit.