Automotive and Embedded Networks

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAN protocol basics

Hi all,

Since i am new to CAN protocol i have the following doubts during my study, could anyone help me to understand the queries.

1. Why dominant bit has high priority in CAN protocol?

2. Is it possible to assign same CAN ID for two messages? If yes, then how does the arbitration handle for this?

3. If data and remote frame with same message ID and start transmit at same time which frame(data or remote) win the bus?

4. The nodes connected in the bus have different baud rates, how does the synchronization happened?

5. How can calculate the time taken to transmit a CAN message with  11 bit identifier at 512 kbps?

6. How does the uC get to know whether the received bit is dominant or recessive?

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,673 Views)

Hi,

I will do my best to explain CAN communications.  Others may be able to do much better than me...

As with all digital communication, CAN messaging is a series of 1 or 0 values transmitted in sequence on wires.  The 1 value (dominant) has a high voltage on the wire, while 0 (recessive) has a low voltage. 

If two signals appear at the same time, as soon as one tries to send a 0 (low voltage) while the other is sending 1 (high voltage) the 1 value will "win".  The signal that wanted 0 will be stopped.  This is arbitration. 

Each message should really have a unique ID.  If two nodes are trying to send the same message there will be confusion.  Receiving nodes will not necessarily know which "version" of the message they have just received. 

If you do have two nodes sending the same message, and they actually start at the same instant, then as described above, as soon as one has a 0 when the other has a 1, the message with 0 will stop being transmitted. 

You cannot use different baud rates in one network.