cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAN Protocol

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am new to CAN protocol going through the Robert Bosch's CAN Specification ver2.0 Part B. I can't understand the following lines in page 63

" Note:

Start up / Wake up:

if during startup only one node is online, and if this node transmits some message, it will get no acknowledgement, detect an error and repeats the message. It can become 'error passive' but not 'bus off' due to this reason." 

As far as I understand when a transmitter detects an error(like Acknowledgement error) it retransmits the message and also increments the transmit error count (TEC) by 8. So if there is only one node then its TEC should increase by 8 everytime it transmits a message and should go into 'bus off' condition.

Can someone please explain why the specification says it can only go 'Error Passive' but not 'Bus off'?.

Thanks in Advance,

Jagdish.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(10,415 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author jagdish27

In chapter 7 of the spec where it indicates incrementing by 8 for each error, the next sentence indicates that there is an exception where a node does not increment the transmitter error counter if it is error passive (TC >= 128) and the error is a no-ack error.

Message 2 of 17
(10,387 Views)

Thanks a lot for your reply. I missed reading that exception.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(10,490 Views)

I have a doubt that what happens when DLC in message frame is specified as 0?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 17
(8,738 Views)

@bbk1707 wrote:

Can you explain your comment a bit more. I am not understanding what you are asking.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 17
(8,735 Views)

@bbk1707 wrote: