cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Self Addressed Message example

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everybody,

I'm new to the Actor Framework and I'm currently developing my first project with it. I've got to the point where I would like an Actor "B" to send a message to another Actor "A" which is not it's caller, nor I want to let A's enqueuer be an attribute of B's class to establish this link between the two actors. It can look a bit weird, but I have reasons to plan the architecture that way, which I don't think to be relevant at least in the beginning of this discussion.

Anyway, for this kind of need, the Self Addressed Msg class seemed to be useful. But I couldn't find any documentation showing examples on how to use the VIs of this class, and I couldn't find a way to send messages with data using the Send Self Addresed Msg.vi.

I understood how to use this VI to configure a message with the Address Message.vi and later use the Send Self Addresed Msg.vi to send this message and running a VI with no inputs. But is it possible to send data along this self addressed message?

Thanks!

Message 1 of 7
(4,960 Views)

I understood how to use this VI to configure a message with the Address Message.vi and later use the Send Self Addresed Msg.vi to send this message and running a VI with no inputs. But is it possible to send data along this self addressed message?

You can create a child class of Self-Addressed Msg.lvclass and add the data required to the payload to the new class.

And make sure, the receiving actor can handle this message Smiley Wink

I guess you are aware, you are increasing the coupling between the Actors/ the Message?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,945 Views)

You can create a child class of Self-Addressed Msg.lvclass and add the data required to the payload to the new class.