From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you lay out your AF projects?

So I'm still getting into the AF and I'm loving it so far, but I'm having trouble with the initial phase of "Sketch out my actors and messages".

Some of the "Intro to AF" websites have some awesome looking charts they've made with sequences, message lists, that kind of thing. Right now I'm just using a piece of paper, which works but isn't flexible when I need to change things, and is super hard to document without just taking a picture of the paper.

What are the best practices for laying out and documenting your actor framework tree?

(I searched on this and found nothing, forgive me if this has been asked before!)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(5,237 Views)

Actor Tree diagrams work well for the static layout of the system, ie. who launches who and which actors can communicate directly with each other.

For help visualizing/planning sequences of messages I usually do the following:

1. I first layout an Activity Diagram for what I want to have happen (big picture).  It's kind of like a flowchart but it is good for showing parallel paths using forks and joins. Then I take each of the actions (or parallel paths) and think about which actor needs to be responsible for that.
  2. Then I usually layout a sequence diagram which shows lifelines and the exact sequence of messages that implement the Activity Diagram.

That whole process is a lot of work, so I only do it if I really need to.   I don't do it for every set of messages, just for modelling high-level system type behavior.

If you need to brush up on your UML, checkout UML Distilled.

Hope that is helpful.

Sam Taggart