From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Have any toolkit to develop actor framework project quickly and efficiently

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to develop actor framework project,and I realize that actor framework is not easy to debug and inconvenient to develop class.

I know that MGI Monitored Actor Toolkit and class method browser are useful.

Can you share some toolkit to develop actor framework more easily?

Monitored Actor Toolkit:

https://www.mooregoodideas.com/actor-framework/monitored-actor/monitoring-actors/

class method browser:

https://www.mooregoodideas.com/categories/mgi-library/class-method-browser/

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,892 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author wisdoms

@wisdoms wrote:

and I realize that actor framework is not easy to debug and inconvenient to develop class.

I’m the person who created the AF, and I have to ask: what gave you the impression that it is not easy? I designed AF around fairly inexperienced programmers, and many novice G programmers have been able to use it to build up complex applications. But the tools only work if you recognize the problem you’re solving isn’t like traditional applications ... massive parallelism requires proof by construction... which means building your apps different than you may be used to doing. 

For your most complex logic actors, develop each actor as much like a by-value type as you can. Call its methods in a line on one diagram and make sure they return correct outputs. After you know they work, then create wrapper VIs that instead of returning the outputs as terminals send messages to its caller containing the results of the logic. Build your actor messages from those methods.