Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Actor files being added to directory outside of executable

Good evening, 

I have inherited a large mess of a code base that I have to maintain and I am slowly replacing the modules, as well as adding new features using Actor Framework. I have been using Actor Framework since 2014 and been through the AF Class.

My problem is this:

When I go to build an updated executable of the application, it has alot of legacy code and some of my new actor modules. When I start the build I get a dialog with a message similar to this "LabVIEW prevented a file name collision during the build. Duplicate file names cannot be copied to the same destination. You can rename files as part of the build process to avoid name conflicts."

I DO NOT have the save files for LabVIEW 8.6 hierarchy or whatever it is called for the flat file structure selected. 

It does this when I go to the source files setting page and tell the app builder to put the files into the executable file or if I tell it to including put them in a subfolder. 

All of my actor code that I write is in those locations as well as the actor framework library...

Is this normal or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks in Advance

Appreciate constructive criticism, it is there to help you succeed.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,700 Views)

Hi,

just making sure, I am understanding the situation correctly:

Is the legacy code also AF-based or are you refactoring the code using AF?

Does the original build spec still work? Can you identify the situation the error was introduced?

For the build process, I usually allocate a seperate folder per Actor, which works pretty well.

Otherwise the build process, the build process will try to put all actor code into the identical subfolder which results in the message, you have mentioned.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(1,636 Views)

@SHowell-Atec wrote: