Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Actor Enqueuer Questions

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to AF and I have a few questions about actor enqueuers that I was hoping to gets some clarification on:

1.)  Is an actor's self-enqueuer (returned by Read Self Enqueuer.vi) the same as the enqueuer for the actor that it's caller uses to send it's message?  If they are different, what is the difference? Can an actor send it's self-enqueuer to another actor to get reply messages?  Is this practice frowned upon?

2.)  If a callee sends a message to it's caller and wants some kind of reply, how can the caller know which of it's callee actors sent it that message?  It is up to the callee to send some kind of identifier in the message?

Essentially, I want to set up a publish/subscribe setup where callee actors send data request messages to the caller and then the caller tells other callee's to send their data to other callee actors directly. Since the caller knows all the enqueuers of it's callees that shouldn't be difficult, but how does it know which callee just sent it a "data request msg"?  Alternatively, the callees could send their self-enqueuer with the data request and the caller can send that on to the callee that has the requested data.

This seems like it should fit right into the AF wheel house but I'm having trouble tracking down the best solution. Any help would be appreciated, even if it's a link to another forum post I may have missed.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,994 Views)

The AF instructions that ship with LabVIEW directly address these points. Have you seen it? I don't mind clarifying, but I want to make sure you've seen that document.

If not: Go to "Create Project" and pick the Actor Framework template. Create the new project from that template. In the new project's documentation folder, you'll find an HTML file that has the details.