Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AF: send response to many actors; share actor's address; lock actor from message processing

Dear NI community,

I'm quite new to Actor Framework, so let me ask some questions regarding it.

I have some actor A, which should send some data (let's say, some configuration parameters) to other actors B, C, D, etc. - those actors can be many. All those actors have common patern (on different level), actor A is not within their hierarchy.

Now, come up 3 tasks.

1. How actor A should now, where it should send data? Actors B, C, D, etc. can have reference to actor A, and send messages with some data. And actor A should send back response to requester. Is it good approach to send with message data also reference of the actor (enqueuer address) - and then, when actor A will receive this message and process it, it can send message back by this reference?
2. Actors B, C, D, etc. should send data to actor A. I see 2 alternatives. The first one, is to inject reference of actor A to private data of actors B, C, D, etc., and then to use this reference to send messages to actor A. But, this gives more overhead, b/c initialization of this reference should be done for each of actor.
The second approach could be to save actor's A reference to some global variable (FGV), and then to use this reference to send messages to actor A. Could it be used like this?
The third approach is to have inside of actor A helper loop, where will be named queue. This queue will receive messages for an actor, and route it to itself (be self enqueuer). But, in this case, for each of command I need to create API VIs, which will incapsulate data of messages to be sent. What is done by AF itself, by Send... method for messages.