Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quad encoder VI doesn't work after programming FPGA

Solved!
Go to solution

I am rather new to the MyRIO, and I am working on controlling a stepper motor from the MyRIO and read in a quadrature encoder at the same time. Individually programmed, the two pieces work beautifully, but once I combine them and attempt to program, the stepper control signals work, but the encoder reader does not. I am using the Express VI for the quad encoder reader from LabVIEW, and I produce the four stepper signals using the FPGA. 

It seems as if the encoder is disabled when I program the FPGA with my code, because if I have two parallel loops, one for the encoder reader and one for the stepper control, if I stop the stepper loop, the encoder immediately works.

Is there something simple I am missing?  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,

Enan

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(9,046 Views)

Good day Enan,

Since the encoder and motor control sections work well individually sounds like there are dependencies that force somehow a sequential execution on your code after combining the code but, would not be able to tell without the code.

Try checking the IO resources used for these 2 operations and make sure they are not reusing the same ports.

Alejandro C. | National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(9,026 Views)

Thank you for the response.

I looked over the IO ports thinking that that could be the simple solution to my problem, but they (the ports) appear to be completely separate, and there is little chance interfere with each other. Using ENC0 on digital port C, and producing the signals on DIO4:7 of digital port C. I moved the four stepper signals to A just to see if there was a difference, and there was no change in the result.