3D Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

High resolution 3D vision for BGA inspection

Hello there vision guys,

Can I ask your suggestion about 3D vision setup that inspect for a bump height and coplanarity of Ball grid array IC.

I already have several projects with 2D imaging but this is my first time doing a project that requires 3D setup.

Initial information:

The vision should work on "stop and inspect concept" instead of a running inspection.

Size of feature to inspect is around 25 microns.

Also, I would like to verify if Labview is capable of 3D image processing or we need to buy/install specific modules/libraries?

Looking forward to discuss to you about this topic.

Regards,

wel

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(9,400 Views)

With so little information, I can only give general advices.

I think that a line scanner would probably be the best bet for your application. There are several companies that provide products. Below are two that have LabVIEW drivers:

- Sick (sick.com/us/en/vision/3d-vision/ranger/ranger-c55412/p/p165856).

- Chromasens (chromasens.de/en/3d-line-scan-camera-3dpixa).

Notice that Sick has a document giving BGA inspection as an application example (sick.com/media/dox/8/18/818/Product_information_Ranger_3D_Camera_Fastest_3D_Available_en_IM0016818.P...).

LabVIEW drivers for Sick Ranger cameras and for Chromasens are both available on the LabVIEW Tool Network

Concerning 3D image processing, you can convert depth data directly into 2D images and use the LabVIEW Vision module for your measurements. If you want to use 3D image processing, LabVIEW has a few tools like sphere fitting but you would be mostly on your own. It all depends on what you want to do.

I have not used the Sick cameras myself but I have analyzed data from a Sick camera using 3D data to correct for object tilt. Once the tilt was removed, the 3D data were converted into a 2D image for analysis using the LabVIEW Vision module.